1986 State Finalists

1988 State Finalists



Girls Senior & Big League Softball

1986 & 1988 State Finalists


Girls’ Softball in South Laredo had its beginnings in the summer of 1983. Due to the efforts of Roberto Santos, Julia Gonzalez, Frank Mull and Jesus Reynaga, Girls’ Softball in South Laredo was chartered as the Laredo South League, and it became a reality. 

Three years later, in 1986, the Senior League girls accomplished something that no girls’ team in the history of Laredo had ever done before: They were on their way to represent Laredo in the Texas State Girls’ Softball Tournament in Waco, Texas. There, they placed 3rd in the tournament and received the coveted Sportsmanship Award. Two years later in 1988, Laredo South Big League Girls’s Softball were the first Big League team to represent Laredo in the Texas State Tournament and placed 4th in the tournament.

Laredo South manager, Bobby Santos, gave credit for the state appearances to more than just talent. “We had some good teams in the past, but you need some luck too. 

The 1986 team group had been together for 3 years, and the goal was always to advance to the State Tournament. The 1988 team consisted mainly of the same group that played together on the 1986 team. It’s a credit to these girls that they never gave up and were willing to put in the hard work and dedication to accomplishing this incredible goal.”  These two teams had the unique distinction of being the first girls’ teams to represent  Laredo in the Girls’ Softball State Tournament in Waco, Texas.

Help us make our museum a reality. Please donate.

Proposed museum location is downtown Laredo, Texas, intersection, Farragut at Juarez Ave.